Ok, so the first thing after I saw this was to send an email to the webmaster of this website “iimi-epgp.net” .  (Do not visit this site. Or if you are too curious, then visit it after disabling javascript). This is supposedly the “Student Website for Executive Post Graduate Programme in Management”.

I discovered this when I was searching in Google for my own name and the first result came up as the web page of some other “Akshay Jain” at that website and with a Google warning that “This site may harm your computer.

The exploit appears to be a SQL injection in the database forcing the visitor’s browser to open malicious javascript which can then infect the machine. Moreover, this is not only Google that is showing this. My NOD32 also gave the same error.

Malicious software is hosted on 4 domain(s), including tctcow.com, movaddw.com, crtbond.com. (they have not been linked intentionally)

2 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including crtbond.com, pyttco.com.

If such professional websites in India are not safe and moreover, after the initial exploit, they are “still” infected without any preventive action taking place, then it raises serious concerns about the security / technical capability of India to deal with such issues.

I will keep you updated on how this goes.